The Department of Geography has the distinction of being one of the oldest departments of the College. The department was established in 1948 with the reestablishment of the College in Jalandhar after the partition of India. The department began post-graduate classes in 2003. Prof. Sadhu Singh Ji (M.A) took great pains to develop the Department after its dislocation from Lyallpur (now Faisalabad) in Pakistan. Prof. Harnarinder Singh, Prof. Vir Singh Sooch and Prof. Gurbachan Singh Bachan, took the reins of the Department and contributed to its growth. Followed by Dr. Malkiat Singh and Dr. Lakhwinder Singh. The present Head of the Department is Prof. Jasbir Singh Rana. The Department consists of six faculty members.The built-up area of the Department is 3045 sq ft. The department has a large spacious well-equipped lab, 5 Computer systems, and internet connectivity. Maps charts and diagrams and other teachings aids like various types of projectors are regularly used by the teachers. The Department has a rich departmental library. Practical sessions provide firsthand knowledge to the students.

Read More

Well equipped departmental lab facilitates better teaching. Students are regularly informed of the latest developments and innovations in the field. The department also provides teaching assistance to the Department of Environment Science. The department sequently organizing educational trips and conducted seminars, extension lectures, workshops, etc. The Department organizes a variety of function for the skill development of students. The department also uses new technology like G.I.S, G.P.S etc. an instrument for enhancing the knowledge of students.

Faculty Members

S.No Name Designation Qualification Profile
1 Prof. J. S. Rana Head of Department

Associate Professor

M.A , M. Phil.
2 Dr. Pooja Rana Assistant Professor M.A , Ph.D.