The Physics Department of the college was established in 1948. The department started M.Sc. Physics from the session 2004. Known for excellent academic teaching, the department in its efforts to promote research has got published research papers in various journals and has guided a number of students for the M.Phil projects.The department also has to its credit the distinction of being awarded a minor research project on “Statistical mechanical properties of free electron laser’ by U.G.C. Recently the department was instrumental in organizing a well-attended conference on the theme ‘Laser and its Applications’. The Department is funded by DBT under Star College Scheme. For more information visit:

Special features of the department include :

  • Six highly equipped laboratories including Solid State Lab, Nuclear Physics Lab, Optics Lab and ElectronicsLabexclusively for M.Sc classes.

  • Modern equipment like ESR apparatus, Susceptibility Measurement apparatus, Frank Hertz apparatus, Microwave Kit, Four Probe Arrangement, GM Counters, Scintillation Counters, Michelson Interferometer etc.

  • Regular arrangement of seminars and extension lecture by renowned university scholars and scientists.

Faculty Members

S.No Name Designation Qualification Profile
1 Dr. Narveer Singh Assistant Professor M.Sc , Ph. D.
2 Dr. Amanpreet Kaur Sandhu Assistant Professor M.Sc (Hons) , Ph. D.
3 Dr. Amritpal Singh Assistant Professor M.Sc (Hons Physics), M.Sc (Plasma Physics) , Ph. D.
4 Dr. Ranju Mahajan Assistant Professor M.Sc (Hons) , Ph. D.
5 Dr. Navneet Arora Assistant Professor M.Sc , Ph. D.
6 Dr. Ravneet Kaur Assistant Professor M.Sc (Hons) , Ph. D.
7 Dr. Mandeep Kaur Assistant Professor M.Sc, Ph. D.